Author Interview: Claire Huston @ClaraVal

I’m delighted to be featured on Esther’s brilliant blog today to talk about my debut novel, Art and Soul (which comes out next Thursday, 23rd April – eeek!), writing and baking (of course!).

You can read the whole interview by following the link to Esther’s blog and the original post blow 🙂

estherchiltonblog

It’s a pleasure to introduce you to Claire Huston. I met Claire at an author meet-up a little while ago and was very interested to hear about her forthcoming book.

Q. Your first book, Art and Soul, is due out on April 23rd this year. Can you tell us a little bit about it?

A.Art and Soul is an uplifting, contemporary romance featuring love, art and cake.

The main character, struggling single mother Becky Watson, longs to revive her career as a life-fixer, working miracles to solve her clients’ problems, no matter how big or small. Since the birth of her two-year-old son she has been stuck preventing wedding fiascos for the richest and rudest residents of the Comptons, a charming, leafy area of southern England known for its artistic heritage.

So when semi-reclusive local artist Charlie Handren reluctantly hires Becky to fix his six-year creative slump…

View original post 740 more words

Q&A with author Sarina Langer

I’m delighted to welcome Sarina Langer to Art and Soul as part of the celebrations for the publication of her first book, Rise of the Sparrows.

rise of the sparrows by Sarina Langer book cover

The blurb: Rifarne is a country opposed to magic. When its people demand harsh action, King Aeric sees himself with no other choice but to outlaw those with the gift. Rachael, a homeless orphan with the rare gift of a Seer, soon finds herself with visions of her own violent death. When her escape goes wrong and she ends up in the clutches of a vicious Mist Woman lusting for her blood, she finds she is the only person to stop the war against people like her – and assassinating the King to become Queen to a people who once wanted her dead may well be the only way to do just that.


Hello Sarina! Welcome to Art and Soul and congratulations on publishing your first book! Could you tell us, in your own words, what Rise of the Sparrows is about (no spoilers!)?

Rise of the Sparrows is about a girl who is struggling to survive. Her name is Rachael, and she has the rare gift of a prophet – which makes her a shunned criminal in the eyes of many people. She has been homeless and on her own since she was a child, and while she has learned how to defend herself and where to find food there’s only so much she can do if no one leaves their leftovers out for her. Her visions scare her. She can’t control them, so when she sees herself dying and helpless in a place she doesn’t recognise (she’s also surrounded by demons) she knows she needs to do something. She didn’t expect to run away with a girl who can set fire to everything and everyone, and who doesn’t know that burning people alive is a bad thing, no matter the situation!

Continue reading…

Submitting a novel to literary agents; aka “coping with rejection”

It’s been quite a while since I posted anything about my writing.

Snoopy rejection slips

For those of you I haven’t managed to bore with it yet, I have written a book. It’s called Art and Soul and is a contemporary romance – and when I say “romance” I mean in the vein of Pride and Prejudice, not 50 Shades (one of my friends was very disappointed!). It features love, art and cake. If you want to know more, click here.

In early June, I began submitting samples of Art and Soul to literary agents here in the UK. This usually involves sending them a covering letter, the first 3 chapters of the novel and a plot synopsis. I believe the process of querying is a bit different in the US.

Wait! There’s more. Click for the rest of the story…