Art and Soul

Art and Soul is my debut novel, published in April 2020.

Art and Soul contemporary romance novel cover by Claire Huston a heartwarming uplifting romance

An uplifting contemporary romance, Art and Soul is the story of struggling single mother Becky Watson who longs to revive her career as a life-fixer, working miracles to solve her clients’ problems, no matter how big or small. Since the birth of her two-year-old son she has been stuck preventing wedding fiascos for the richest and rudest residents of the Comptons, a charming, leafy area of southern England known for its artistic heritage.

So when reclusive local artist Charlie Handren reluctantly hires Becky to fix his six-year creative slump, she’s delighted to set him up with a come-back exhibition and Rachel Stone, the woman of his dreams.

Though they get off to a rocky start, Becky and Charlie soon become close. But as the beautiful Rachel becomes Charlie’s muse, Becky is forced to wonder: will giving Charlie everything he wants mean giving up her own happily ever after?

A heart-warming contemporary romance served with a generous slice of cake. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Katie Fforde.

Get your copy at Amazon now!

 

If you’d like to hear more every now and then about progress on my next book, giveaways and any other exciting bookish developments, please sign up for my mailing list. I promise not to spam you!

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

 

Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

73 thoughts on “Art and Soul

  1. Pingback: Writing tips. Saying goodbye to Bob. | Art and Soul

  2. Pingback: Writing update and JuNoWriMo 2015 | Art and Soul

  3. Pingback: Writing progress 8 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo challenge) | Art and Soul

  4. Pingback: Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream frosting | Art and Soul

  5. Pingback: Writing progress 15 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge) | Art and Soul

  6. Pingback: Infinity Dreams Award | Art and Soul

  7. Pingback: Writing progress 22 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge) | Art and Soul

  8. Pingback: Writing progress 29 June 2015 (JuNoWriMo Challenge) | Art and Soul

    • Thank you! I really hope the literary agents I’m waiting to hear from agree with you 🙂 So far only friends have read the book and so you can never be sure if they’re being nice when they tell you they’ve enjoyed it! (although a couple of them are capable of being quite harsh, so I’m sure they’d have said if it was rubbish).

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean, I’ve had loads of positive feedback from friends about my blog but I am always doubtful because see all these people on xfactor & their friends have told them they should apply because they are brilliant singers & well, we’ve all seen the car crash tv that followed!! 😀 I’m sure your book is as brilliant as they say though, that plot taster has me desperate to read it already plus there is chocolate fudge cake in there! Win win in my book!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Writing progress 5 July 2015 (JuNoWriMo wrap-up) | Art and Soul

  10. Pingback: Sisterhood of The World Bloggers | Art and Soul

  11. Pingback: Simple sponge cake with white icing and multi-coloured sprinkles | Art and Soul

  12. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | Art and Soul

  13. Pingback: Recipe | Raspberry ripple sponge cake | Art and Soul

  14. Pingback: Submitting a novel to literary agents; aka “coping with rejection” | Art and Soul

  15. Very interesting!! I think you have a great plot and the storyline is definitely attention-grabbing! There are so many new YA twists on fairy tales, but this is truly one of a kind. I’m glad it doesn’t focus on the actually princesses, and more on the side characters, like Cinderella’s fairy godmother. Good luck with finding an agent! I would love to read it when it is published (REMEMBER not if, but when 😀 )

    Love and books,
    Veda

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: The Encouraging Thunder Award | Art and Soul

  17. Pingback: The Real Neat Blog Award | Art and Soul

  18. Pingback: And so it begins… | Art and Soul

  19. Pingback: Recipe | Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting | Art and Soul

  20. Pingback: Short NaNoWriMo 2015 wrap-up | Art and Soul

  21. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 2nd December 2015 | Art and Soul

  22. Pingback: Editing your own writing. Can you ever be “done”? | Art and Soul

  23. Pingback: Creative Mothers Series – Art and Soul |

  24. Pingback: Editing your novel. My experience of getting professional feedback | Art and Soul

  25. Pingback: Exciting writing times and why I may be absent for a while… | Art and Soul

  26. Pingback: Visit to Coombe Abbey Country Park and a quick writing update | Art and Soul

    • Thank you! I did a major re-write at the start of this year after sending the first three chapters to an editor who gave me some very helpful feedback: cut chapters 1 and 2 and start the book with the events of chapter 3! I did what he said but, as I’m sure you can imagine, it had huge consequences for the rest of the book. I’ll be back to agent submissions (and more rejections, I’m sure) this summer.
      Best of luck to you too 🙂

      Like

  27. Pingback: 1st blogiversary + 500 followers = giveaway time! | Art and Soul

  28. Pingback: Recipe | Raspberry ripple cupcakes with raspberry buttercream filling | Art and Soul

  29. Pingback: Recipe | White chocolate layer cake with raspberry buttercream filling | Art and Soul

  30. Hi! I just found you from a comment you left on Holly Kerr’s website…don’t you love the way one thing leads to another? Lol. Anyway…I am dying to know what is happening with your novel! You were asked to cut the dirst two chapters, were deep in revisions, and….

    You’ve really got me curious. Crossing my fingers it’s nothing but good news 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello!
      I’m glad you found me 🙂
      Unfortunately, I’m still submitting to agents with no luck. I got my most heartening and at the same time frustrating rejection a couple of months back which basically said, “Your writing is good and I love the sound of this and would ask to see more, but I just took on an author who writes the same stuff a week ago, so sorry”.
      That’s the way it goes!
      I’m going to try one more batch of agent submissions at the end of this month and if that comes to nothing I’ll send it to a few digital publishers.
      And if that doesn’t help either, I’ll be getting it professionally edited and self-publishing!
      Phew!

      Like

  31. Oh this sounds adorable!! I can’t wait for it to get published!!! Hopefully very soon — and maybe you can offer some tips on publication for other aspiring writers like myself? It would be nice to hear about it from someone on the inside…or at least closer to the inside than me! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!
      I have to just keep going with the quest to get published 🙂 Eventually I’ll self-publish if I don’t have any luck going the traditional route because it would be a shame to leave all my hard work sitting in a computer file never seen by anyone!
      If I do get published I’ll be shouting it from the rooftops – you’ll all be bored with me going on about it.
      The very best of luck with your writing too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  32. Pingback: Recipe | Simple school sponge cake with white icing and multicoloured sprinkles | Art and Soul

  33. Pingback: Recipe | Cappuccino swirl layer cake with caramel buttercream | Art and Soul

  34. Claire! I’m so excited to hear about your book coming out soon! I’ll sign up for the newsletter to get all the details. Congratulations and looking forward to reading! I’ve added it to my GR want to reads too! 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  35. PS. Please let me know if you would like to participate in a little author exchange Q&A I’ve got going on my blog at the moment, would love to have you! -AK

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would be honoured to be on your blog 🙂 Don’t know if you’re planning slots as far in advance as April, as not sure I’ll feel like a legitimate author until then!
      Not long until your next publication day now! Eeek! 🙂 The cover is beautiful, you must be really pleased x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Fantastic, I would be so honoured to have you! I am in the process of planning at the mo. I can email the Q&A today. 🙂 Ooh thank you so much for your kind words about Secret Lives of Mothers & Daughters! I’m feeling all the butterflies as we approach the Canadian release on Jan 28th. Thank goodness I have a bit more time before the US/UK release in late Feb. So pleased for you, Claire! I’ll go ahead and email you now, back in touch soon! xo

        Liked by 1 person

  36. Pingback: Author Interview: Claire Huston @ClaraVal | Art and Soul

  37. Pingback: Recipe | Raspberry ripple sponge cake | Art and Soul

  38. Pingback: Recipe | White chocolate layer cake with raspberry buttercream filling | Art and Soul

  39. Pingback: Recipe | Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting | Art and Soul

  40. Pingback: Recipe | Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate buttercream frosting | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s