ARC Review | The Surrogate by Louise Jensen

A brilliant epilogue is the perfect ending to another enjoyable read from Louise Jensen. 4/5 stars.

The Surrogate by Louise Jensen

The Surrogate is out tomorrow, Wednesday 27th September 2017

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for giving me an e-copy of this book to read and review.

 

The blurb: Kat and her husband Nick have tried everything to become parents, and are on the point of giving up. Then a chance encounter with Katโ€™s childhood friend Lisa gives Kat and Nick one last chance to achieve their dream.

But Kat and Lisaโ€™s history hides dark secrets.

And there is more to Lisa than meets the eye.

As dangerous cracks start to appear in Katโ€™s perfect picture of happily-ever-after, she realises that she must face her fear of the past to save her family…

My take:

This will be a short review to avoid spoilers!

Regular readers of my reviews will know I have an up-and-down relationships with book branded “psychological thrillers” or “dark thrillers”. However, having enjoyed Louise Jensen’s previous two books – The Sister and The Gift (click the titles for my reviews) – I went into The Surrogate with high hopes, which thankfully weren’t disappointed.

From the blurb and the first couple of chapters, I came to expect something along the lines of The Hand that Rocks the Cradle, but I was pleased to discover that the author gives us something else entirely!

As you’ll expect if you’ve read Jensen’s previous books, the various threads of the story are handled expertly to keep us in the dark and continue delivering surprise after surprise. The characters’ back stories are scattered between the present day chapters, but this is never confusing and does very little to slow the current action down.

I didn’t find the central heroine – Kat – quite as sympathetic as the main female characters in The Sister and The Gift, but she was still well drawn and believable. That said, it was nice to get an occasional break from being inside her increasingly paranoid head space as we dipped into Nick’s point of view.

I must confess, as we got to the end I felt slightly disappointed that things were wrapped up a little to neatly. BUT THEN… the Epilogue happened. This final chapter is a proper punch in the guts. I won’t give anything away, but it contains two fantastic shocks and a revelation about a streak of genuinely disturbing darkness in one of the characters which had only been hinted at previously. It was brilliant, and I wouldn’t have minded more of that darkness earlier on in the story (and I say that as a bit of “thriller wimp”!).

Overall: Yet another page-turner from Louise Jensen. Fans of The Sister and The Gift will be delighted. I predict another huge success!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

Save

Save

Save

Advertisements

17 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Surrogate by Louise Jensen

  1. Great review Claire. I agree with you on everything. Like you, I wasn’t too crazy about the ending but the epilogue sure did have some wonderful, shocking revelations. I like how the epilogue ended too. Glad that you enjoyed this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I was hoping it was out today, as Tuesdays are usually “release day.” But only one more day. I enjoyed The Sister….and surrogacy is fascinating to me. So many sad things can happen between pregnancy and birth. Thanks for sharing.

    Sounds like the epilogue is the perfect place for more stunning revelations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I thought it might be out on Thursday and was surprised they’re going for Wednesday ๐Ÿ™‚
      That’s the thing with surrogacy: so many things can happen between the surrogate getting pregnant and birth (as you say), that as you’re reading the book you’re thinking, “O this is going to happen… or this… or this” and you’re usually wrong! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

    • Louise’s books are perfect for thriller wimps like me because none of them involve too much threat or anything really nasty. She’s really good at getting over paranoia and suspicion without going over the top.
      Things get a bit far-fetched in places, but then that’s all thrillers! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Pingback: Review | The Date by Louise Jensen | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s